Event Guide

Powered by:

Counterpart

Counterpart

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 31 Jul ’15, 5:30pm – 8:00pm
  • Sat 1 Aug ’15, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Tue 4 Aug ’15, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 5 Aug ’15, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 6 Aug ’15, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 7 Aug ’15, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 8 Aug ’15, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Tue 11 Aug ’15, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 12 Aug ’15, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 13 Aug ’15, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 14 Aug ’15, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 15 Aug ’15, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Tue 18 Aug ’15, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Railway Street Studios, 8 Railway St, Newmarket

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Jo Turner & Margaret Neill - Counterpart

In 2005 Jo Turner decided that it was time to follow her dream of pursuing her interest in art by studying for a BFA. The inner world of art suddenly opened up for Turner, and during the four years of study it was the sculptural 3D form that she concentrated on. Those study years still inform her work today.

“Movement, or the suggestion of movement of the human form is what I am currently working on. Life subjects are often static, with a range of poses. I like my subjects to have personality, to be humorous, to relax and to be themselves. I found by obscuring the face the viewer connects in a different way; concentration on the body and its movement becomes the focus.”

For all the years of admiring, examining and dissecting other artists work, Turner is finally on the road to creating her own unique pieces.

Margaret Neill, a Pharmacist by day, is compelled to explore another talent – creating concoctions of another sort – primarily painting landscapes and still life. She looks to Hockney for inspiration as well as searching New Zealand for its uniqueness and peculiarities.

Both artists continue to study under the accomplished artist and teacher, Belinda Wilson.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited