Event Guide

Powered by:

Significant Works (2014)

Significant Works (2014)

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 5 Jul ’14, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 7 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 8 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 9 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 10 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 11 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 12 Jul ’14, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 14 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 15 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 16 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 17 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 18 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 19 Jul ’14, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 21 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 22 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 23 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 24 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 25 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 26 Jul ’14, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 28 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 29 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 30 Jul ’14, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Milford Galleries Dunedin, 18 Dowling St, Dunedin Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Significant Works 2014 is a museum standard exhibition featuring pre-eminent NZ artists and works of artistic significance.

A number of major works have been especially produced for the exhibition, including two by Dick Frizzell and another by Michael Hight. Ann Robinson is represented by three marvellous glass works, including a unique pair of pods where the surface has been carved back, the shape modified and defined by this.

Paul Dibble’s great sculpture, Dawn and Dusk, of two paired figures is, by any criteria applied, a truly outstanding work of art.

There is a rare, important portrait by Toss Woollaston, a pair of remarkable Brent Wong paintings, a superb stained glass work by Pat Hanly, and the most important Philip Clairmont on the market for some time.

Reuben Paterson is represented by two substantial works – one beautiful and celebratory, and another, more recent painting, delivering exacting tour de force contrasts of op-art and poppy overlays.

A substantial exhibition opens shortly at Auckland Art Gallery of Robert Ellis’s work, including one of the paintings featured in Significant Works 2014. Mervyn Williams is included with two definitive illusionistic works. (Note: important book publications on the works of Robert Ellis and Mervyn Williams will be released by Ron Sang Publications later this year).

Shigeyuki Kihara is also represented by two works – the Siva in Motion performance video (commissioned by Auckland Art Gallery; recently acquired by Los Angeles County Museum of Art) and the new large scale format photograph Mass Grave, Vaimoso.

There is a substantial work on wallpaper by W D Hammond, three important photographs by Christine Webster, alongside considerable works by Joanna Braithwaite, Bill Sutton, Ian Scott, Karl Maughan, Neil Frazer, Stanley Palmer, J S Parker, Nigel Brown, Ross Ritchie and Wendy Fairclough.

Neil Dawson is represented by three important wall-mounted sculptures, each representing major, acclaimed series.

Exciting emerging artists Andy Leleisi’uao (recipient of numerous international residencies) and Jenna Packer are included alongside Venice Biennale 2013 exhibitor, Darryn George.

Significant Works 2014 is completed with the enthralling, multi-faceted, figurative beauty of Terry Stinger’s Four Aspects and Graham Bennett’s suspended map-like frame, a four-sided pod form segment of the globe, entitled Guidelines.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited