Event Guide

Powered by:

Siavash Momeny

Siavash Momeny

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Tue 5 Aug ’14, 5:30pm – 7:30pm
  • Wed 6 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 7 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 8 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 9 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 10 Aug ’14, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 11 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 12 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 13 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 14 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 15 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 16 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 17 Aug ’14, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 18 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 19 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 20 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 21 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 22 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 23 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 24 Aug ’14, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 25 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 26 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 27 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 28 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 29 Aug ’14, 9:30am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 30 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 31 Aug ’14, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Artis Gallery, 280 Parnell Rd, Parnell

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Siavash Momeny’s paintings depict everyday objects wrapped in newspaper. Though their surface is masked, the objects are clearly recognisable.

Objects from our past are locked in with our memories and associations. We connect things we no longer use with periods in our lives. When these items were wrapped and put away, the newspapers used to protect them were current. It is another reminder of not only our personal memory of the object, but also the wider association of that period in history.

Though disguised in newspaper, the wrapped object offers a more complex story of that point in time than the item alone. A childhood item wrapped in news that lay outside of one’s then insulated world, may offer in hindsight a greater perspective on those in your life at the time, and the things that happened around you.

The sight of recognisable forms wrapped in newspaper also communicates the idea of moving from a place, or a period in our lives, and perhaps a changing mental state associated with this move. This veil of newspaper provides a cursory covering for the object but the protection offered is tenuous, suggestive of a metaphor for the human condition and symbolising the protective layer we try to cover ourselves with when we are vulnerable. In reality there are no cast iron protective shells and we are forced to persevere regardless.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited