Event Guide

Powered by:

Rhythm and Resonance

Rhythm and Resonance

Sorry this event has been and gone


  • Mon 1 Sep ’14, 8:00pm – 10:00pm


Auckland Town Hall - Great Hall, 303 Queen St, Auckland CBD


All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • A Reserve: $65.00
  • C Reserve: $35.00
  • Child: $10.00
  • B Reserve: $55.00
  • Student Rush (on the day): $15.00


CMNZ Website

Two grand pianos and glowing percussion – the most vibrant of all of the sound-worlds and a spectacular combination to see on stage.

Diedre Irons, piano
Michael Endres, piano
Thomas Guldborg, percussion
Lenny Sakofsky, percussion

Bartók’s Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion is one of the masterworks of the 20th century. It is the perfect synthesis of tradition and modernism: of eastern harmony and mysticism combined with western classical structure and rigour.

The sonata is rarely performed due to the difficulty of bringing together two grand pianos and an astonishing array of instruments: xylophone, bass drum, cymbals and no less than four glowing timpani.

In this spectacular programme, Chamber Music New Zealand brings together two pianos and an entire section of percussion to present some of the greatest works ever written for them.

Along with Bartók’s ‘love letter’ to his favourite instruments, the concert will feature Mozart’s Sonata K448 – one of the showpieces for two pianos and written for a concert in Vienna in 1781. It is pure classical perfection: brilliant, virtuosic, yet refined in the sense that would so much influence Bartók himself and all the two-piano literature to come.
Le Tombeau de Couperin, one of Ravel’s most popular works, is a suite of baroque dances originally written for piano, light-hearted and scintillating. The French loved the colours and timbres of percussion, as in this stunning modern arrangement for two-marimba solo.

All of these works require absolute virtuosos, and we have them: Lenny Sakofsky and Thomas Guldborg from Stroma and the NZSO, with pianists Michael Endres and Diedre Irons. Together, they form this magic interplay, as spectacular to watch as it will remain echoed in your ears and in your mind.

This is an audio described concert in Wellington and Auckland. Details on how to book and more details can be found on our audio described information page...


Total Duration: 1hr 45mins (incl. interval)
First Half: 45mins, Second Half: 40mins

Programme includes:
Mozart | Sonata in D for Two Pianos K448
Ravel | Le Tombeau de Couperin for two marimbas


Bartók | Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion
Lutoslawski | Variations on a Theme of Paganini for two pianos and percussion, Arr. for the Safri Duo by Marta Ptaszyńska

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited