Event Guide

Powered by:

Michael Ferriss: Cartography for the Second Millennium

Michael Ferriss: Cartography for the Second Millennium

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 18 Jan ’14, 2:00pm – 3:30pm
  • Sun 19 Jan ’14, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 20 Jan ’14, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Tue 21 Jan ’14, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 22 Jan ’14, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 23 Jan ’14, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 24 Jan ’14, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 25 Jan ’14, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 26 Jan ’14, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 27 Jan ’14, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Tue 28 Jan ’14, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 29 Jan ’14, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 30 Jan ’14, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Depot Artspace, 28 Clarence Street, Devonport

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Opening in the Main Gallery
Saturday 18 January 2 – 3.30pm

"A man sets out to draw the world. As the years go by, he peoples a space with images of provinces, kingdoms, mountains, bays, ships, islands, fishes, rooms, instruments, stars, horses, and individuals. A short time before he dies, he discovers that the patient labyrinth of lines traces the lineaments of his own face." --Jorges Luis Borges

Who is making new maps? Modern cartography is a sterile and scientific process resulting in ubiquitous maps of the world. Street maps and now even our own houses can be viewed on home computers as the images are beamed back to us from space. Gone are the maps of old that illustrated not only the known world, but also the unknown and imagined world. Winds were illustrated around their borders along with strange mythical creatures to show that there may be danger in these parts.

“These works are new abstract maps of our world for the new millennium. They are an attempt to illustrate through abstraction how we look at our world now with fractured images and composite photography, through a new world we call cyberspace.” – Michael Ferriss

Michael's music project Shima will also be featured as part of this exhibition.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited