Event Guide

Powered by:

Jill Sorensen - Avoiding Mastery

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Tue 28 Jan ’14, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 29 Jan ’14, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 30 Jan ’14, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 31 Jan ’14, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 1 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 4 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 5 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 6 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 7 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 8 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 11 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 12 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 13 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 14 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 15 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Whitespace Contemporary Art, 20 Monmouth St, Ponsonby

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Whitespace

Mastery, according to the Webster dictionary is knowledge and skill that allows you to do, use, or understand something very well and a state of having attained complete control of something.

My conundrum as an artist is that, whilst 'understanding something very well' might seem an appealing and mature virtue, its close association with having 'complete control of something' raises a warning flag that the cul de sac of orthodoxy lies in wait.

In art, to understand something so well as to control it runs the risk of remaking and refining something that you already know, and that your audience also knows and recognises, a closed circuit of mastery and applause. Less prone to success, but arguably more interesting is the strategy of avoiding the possibility of control, deliberately pursuing unknowing, cultivating areas of non-skill and embracing unpopular and little understood vernaculars as a vehicle for art making.

To put it more simply, maybe I think of art as a half wild pony, rather than the dressage mount. Which is not to say that there is anything wrong with dressage; I just prefer a little more excitement.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited