Event Guide

Powered by:

Hight, Orjis, Waldrom (2014)

Hight, Orjis, Waldrom (2014)

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 26 Jul ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 27 Jul ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 28 Jul ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 29 Jul ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 30 Jul ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 31 Jul ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 1 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 2 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 3 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 4 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 5 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 6 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 7 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 8 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 9 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 10 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 11 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 12 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 13 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 14 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 15 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 16 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 17 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 18 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 19 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 20 Aug ’14, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Milford Galleries Queenstown, 9a Earl Street, Queenstown

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Unlikely worlds and unlikely characters are on display in these works from Michael Hight, Richard Orjis and Gary Waldrom. Each artist mines the stuff that dreams are made of, presenting their versions of alternate realities.

Michael Hight presents tableaux of familiar objects and landscapes set against a stark background. Devoid of context, the relationships between each is ‘hidden in plain sight’, leaving the viewer to construct the background to each work.

The carefully manipulated photographs of Richard Orjis reveal simultaneous visions of decadence and decay. Bed In recalls Ono and Lennon’s 1969 anti-war protests, but the protagonists Orjis portrays are made of gold and bedecked with jewels, their message one of conspicuous consumption rather than world peace.

Undermining the ‘facts’ of place, time and history, Gary Waldrom’s landscapes are peopled with characters that are at once unnerving and strangely comical. They inhabit a twilight world, betwixt and between the boundaries of everyday life, at once familiar but eerily unreal.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited