Event Guide

Powered by:

Fiona Pardington: Stilling the Glance

Fiona Pardington: Stilling the Glance

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Thu 20 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 8:00pm
  • Fri 21 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 22 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 26 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 27 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 28 Feb ’14, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 1 Mar ’14, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 5 Mar ’14, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 6 Mar ’14, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 7 Mar ’14, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 8 Mar ’14, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 12 Mar ’14, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 13 Mar ’14, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 14 Mar ’14, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 15 Mar ’14, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 19 Mar ’14, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 20 Mar ’14, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 21 Mar ’14, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 22 Mar ’14, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Suite Gallery, 241 Cuba Street, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

{Suite}

Related Artists:

Fiona Pardington

Stilling the Glance: A Selection of Works from the McCahon Residency

Fiona Pardington’s work undertaken during her 2013 Colin McCahon Artist’s Residency is highly seductive and strikingly surreal. Her images of carefully composed tableaux of sourced objects, dramatically lit against dark backgrounds, emit an energy comparable to McCahon’s own spiritually intense paintings.

In response to the local landscape, Pardington’s ambiguous and allegorical works include flowers from McCahon’s garden and dried e-ihumoana (Portuguese man-o’-war) from the coast. Skulls, candles and crystal, in the tradition of the vanitas painting, combine with handcuffs and a gilded dildo – an erotic element recurs through Pardington’s art practise, as do themes of memory, collecting and the history of the photographic image.

Fiona Pardington holds a PHD in photography from the University of Auckland. Born in Devonport, New Zealand and of Kai Tahu, Kati Mamoe and Scottish descent, she has received many fellowships, residencies, awards and grants including an Arts Foundation of New Zealand Laureate Award.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited