Event Guide

Powered by:

School Holidays of Doom

School Holidays of Doom

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Tue 8 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 9 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 10 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 11 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 12 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 13 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 14 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 15 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 16 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 17 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 18 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 19 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 20 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 21 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 22 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 23 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 24 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 25 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 26 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 27 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Otago Museum, 419 Great King Street, Dunedin

Restrictions:

All Ages

Website:

Otago Museum

Laugh in the face of doom these holidays...

It’s all doom, but no gloom these school holidays at Otago Museum. Unravel the curiously creepy mystery of the Egyptian pharaohs, journey across the seas with Captain Cook and plot your escape path as Dunedin’s ancient volcano, Rakiriri looks set to erupt!

Hear the strange story of the discovery Tutankhamen’s tomb as we sort fact from fiction with The Curse of the Pharaohs, the first of our school holiday shock-busters. Learn some fascinating facts about the Museum’s own mummy and create your own ancient Egyptian cursed amulet on Tuesday 15 January at 11.30am and 1.30pm. Then, on Tuesday 22 January discover the most raucous reptiles the world has ever seen as we delve into the doomed domain of the dinosaur! Places are limited and bookings are essential, with a small charge of $2 per child for materials. Secure your place online or contact the Information Desk.

Search high and low around the galleries to find objects for your emergency disaster kit with our Volcano of Doom holiday trail, free and available daily from the Search Centre Desk. Take an epic voyage across the seas with Captain James Cook to explore warriors and weapons of doom in the Pacific, every Monday, Wednesday and Saturday from the 14 January at 2.30pm.

Discovery Squad is back this summer jam-packed with activities to stimulate young minds. Dig up New Zealand’s past to discover long extinct creatures, create your own eco-friendly bag, get ready for a nautical outing and pack your bags for a jungle adventure. Full and half-day sessions are available weekdays from Monday 14 January to Friday 25 January. Check out a full schedule of events and make a booking online, or contact the Information Desk.

Don’t miss your chance to face the ferocious, tackle the terrifying and confront the catastrophic at the Otago Museum! To find out more visit www.otagomuseum.govt.nz.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited