Event Guide

Powered by:

Magnificent Mozart

Magnificent Mozart

Sorry this event has been and gone


  • Tue 13 Aug ’13, 7:30pm


ASB Theatre Marlborough , 2 Hutcheson St, Blenheim Show map


All Ages



Andrew Grams - conductor.
Vesa-Matti Leppänen - violin.
Julia Joyce - viola.

Mozart - The Abduction from the Seraglio: Overture.
Mozart - Sinfonia Concertante.
Mozart - Symphony No.40 in G minor.

We are delighted to welcome back Andrew Grams after his wonderful For the Fallen concert series with us in 2012. Without question it is the rich complexity of emotions that makes Mozart’s music so magnificent. Before composing the sublime Sinfonia Concertante, Mozart endured both the first pangs of love and the devastating loss of his mother, and, unsurprisingly, in this concerto for violin and viola, it is the bigger themes of life that he is grappling with. His opera The Abduction from the Seraglio was also born of upheaval; Mozart composed it speedily in Vienna, having been ‘relieved’ of his court position in Salzburg. A free man, he infused the overture with a cheerfulness that is distinctly his own. With one of the most famous opening phrases in history, the Symphony No. 40 in G minor - nicknamed ‘the Great’ - reaches out into the void and uncovers something profound.

Two of our string stars, Concertmaster Vesa-Matti Leppänen and Section Principal Viola Julia Joyce, trade melodies in the Sinfonia Concertante, exploring all the available colours of their instruments as they soar above the orchestra. Mozart’s overture to The Abduction from The Seraglio fed a Viennese vogue for exotic ‘Turkish’ sounds and is filled with various bells and whistles. Sudden shifts and turbulent chromaticism are brought to order in Mozart’s Symphony No. 40, concluding a concert where you can truly enjoy the magnificence of Mozart.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited