Event Guide

Powered by:

Linda Holloway - Engaging in a Lawless Landscape

Linda Holloway - Engaging in a Lawless Landscape

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 27 Jul ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 28 Jul ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 29 Jul ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 30 Jul ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 31 Jul ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 1 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 2 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 3 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 4 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 5 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 6 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 7 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 8 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 9 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 10 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 11 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 13 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 14 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 15 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 16 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 17 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 18 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 19 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 20 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 21 Aug ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Milford Galleries Queenstown, 9a Earl Street, Queenstown Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Linda Holloway builds each painting intuitively in slowly forming layers, moving across and through numerous varied modes of artistic expression with compelling facility and remarkable ease. In this idiosyncratic process she allows the original wooden surface to continuously assert pictorial presence and fundamental purpose.

She choreographs fact and fiction into parables of possibility. These become enigmatic stories about the architecture of human environments, where the landscape is ever-present (and empty) and upon which float parallel worlds. These worlds traverse each other, partial events float into space, visual contrasts occur where geometric shapes, checkerboard patterns, amorphic outlines and pictorial conceits sound notes of music in the wilderness suggested. Something is always going on, but what? Is this the end or the beginning?

Holloway changes height, scale and depth seamlessly. Each work has a palette which is restrained and fully argued but within which wonderful flourishes occur, moments of utter celebration stand up and call out. Each work contains numerous isolated elements awaiting discovery for every viewer and with these come resonances and clues. Yes, these are paintings which sit in the landscape but they are also mindscapes in which an urban disposition arises and metaphors abound.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited