Event Guide

Powered by:

Hannah Kidd: Under Dog 2013

Hannah Kidd: Under Dog 2013

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 16 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 17 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 18 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 19 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 20 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 21 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 22 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 23 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 24 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 25 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 26 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 27 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 28 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 29 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 30 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 1 Dec ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 2 Dec ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 3 Dec ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 4 Dec ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 5 Dec ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 6 Dec ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 7 Dec ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 8 Dec ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 9 Dec ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 10 Dec ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 11 Dec ’13, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Milford Galleries Queenstown, 9a Earl Street, Queenstown

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Related Artists:

Hannah Kidd

Hannah Kidd’s use of corrugated iron, a medium redolent of woolsheds and haybarns, perfectly matches her observations of working dogs and their charges in Under Dog. In Kidd’s hands, the roughened material takes on an organic, malleable appearance and brings her subjects to life.

Top Dog reveals Kidd’s unparalleled eye for capturing movement as well as her masterful technical skills. Caught in mid-leap with tongue and tail flapping, the huntaway is full of the joys of life and the startled ewe provides the perfect foil for his energy. Visually arresting, the perfectly balanced pair invites the viewer to construct the rest of the scene about them.

Designed to sit against a wall, Leaning Dog invites a pat on the head and the hard surface almost comes at a surprise. Kidd encapsulates the essence of each of her subjects so well that belief is easily suspended. The appeal of her sculptures is, in the first instance, their familiarity. This visual accessibility and tactility then taps into the viewer’s own memories – shearing time, a favourite pet, a day at the races - drawing out an emotional response to the works.

Whether exploring the New Zealand rural vernacular or the mating habits of exotic birds, it is Hannah Kidd’s ability to create a dialogue between her works and the viewer combined with her consummate sense of form and 'the moment' that singles her out as one of the country’s foremost young sculptors.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited