Event Guide

Powered by:

From Mars to MOTAT - Mars Rover ‘curiosity’ Rocks Up

From Mars to MOTAT - Mars Rover ‘curiosity’ Rocks Up

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Tue 5 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 6 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 7 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 8 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 9 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 10 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 11 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 12 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 13 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 14 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 15 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 16 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 17 Nov ’13, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

MOTAT (Museum of Transport & Technology), 805 Great North Rd, Western Springs

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Family Pass (2 adults & up to 4 children): $40.00
  • Adults: $16.00
  • Students/children 5-16yrs: $8.00
  • Children under 5 and SuperGold Card Holders: $0.00

Website:

MOTAT

Curious about space technology and investigating life on Mars? Then a trip to MOTAT should be on your ‘must see’ list this November.

As part of its New Zealand tour with Qantas Frequent Flyer, a 7ft tall life size working replica of NASA’s Mars rover ‘Curiosity’ rolled into MOTAT’s Aviation Display Hall today, Monday 4 November.

The fully motorised car-sized rover was built out of raw materials including steel, plastic and wood by Sydney-based companies, Yippee Ki Yay and Dan Oliver Special Effects. Weighing 350 kilograms, ‘Curiosity’ is able to move her head and arms, roll forward, backwards and pirouette and is powered by rechargeable batteries.

And she’ll be demonstrating these skills at MOTAT’s monthly Live Day on Sunday 17 November when a specially trained driver will put her through her paces from 10am. As well, visitors will be able to join Qantas Frequent Flyer for free on that day.

There have been four Mars rovers, all automated motor vehicles which propel themselves across the surface of the planet. The original ‘Curiosity’ was launched from Cape Canaveral on November 26 2011 as part of NASA’s Mars Science Laboratory mission. Designed to explore the Gale Crater on Mars, the real ‘Curiosity’ was used to investigate the Martian climate and geology, looking for environmental conditions favourable for microbial life – in essence searching for signs of life on Mars.

‘Curiosity’ was filmed in locations all over New Zealand for the Qantas Frequent Flyer campaign, now running. It is the first time the general public will be able to view the vehicle.

Mars rover ‘Curiosity’ will be on display at MOTAT from 4 – 17 November 2013 from 10am – 5pm.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited