Event Guide

Powered by:

Naked Light: Photograms and Camera-less Photographs

Naked Light: Photograms and Camera-less Photographs
Map showing McNamara Gallery Photography

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 8 Dec ’12, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 12 Dec ’12, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 13 Dec ’12, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 14 Dec ’12, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 15 Dec ’12, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 21 Dec ’12, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 22 Dec ’12, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 27 Dec ’12, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 28 Dec ’12, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 29 Dec ’12, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 3 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 4 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 5 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 9 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 10 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 11 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 12 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 16 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 17 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 18 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 19 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 23 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 24 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 25 Jan ’13, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

McNamara Gallery Photography, 190 Wicksteed Street, Whanganui Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Tickets:

  • Free Admission

Mark Adams & Areta Wilkinson
Andrew Beck
Joyce Campbell
Anne Ferran [Sydney]
Katy Gundesen
Gavin Hipkins
Fiona Pardington

A photograph is an event transformed into an object; the fixing of light in space over time.

Photogram: "Objects - opaque and translucent - are placed on light sensitive paper and exposed to light from various sources. The result is a negative: white beneath the opaque objects, grey beneath the translucent objects, and maximum black where the paper was bare." [Beaumont Newhall, 1977]

Each is a unique object, there being no negative from which to make multiple prints.

The works in this exhibition cover a diverse range of practice including; metaphor developed via layered images linking random and formal elements, or the inclusion of the shadow-generating object as part of the final work. They illustrate the photographers’ desire to explore aspects of light, space, scale, automatism [revealing elements of the subconscious perhaps], symbolism, man-made & nature-inspired tracery, and turning an indexical medium to near abstract.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinder.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: