Event Guide

Powered by:

Matariki 2012 Events

Matariki 2012 Events

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 30 Jun ’12, 10:30am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 1 Jul ’12, 10:30am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 2 Jul ’12, 10:30am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 3 Jul ’12, 10:30am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 4 Jul ’12, 10:30am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 5 Jul ’12, 10:30am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 6 Jul ’12, 10:30am – 7:00pm
  • Sat 7 Jul ’12, 2:00pm – 4:30pm
  • Sun 8 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 9 Jul ’12, 9:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 10 Jul ’12, 9:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 11 Jul ’12, 9:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 12 Jul ’12, 9:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 13 Jul ’12, 9:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 23 Jul ’12, 9:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 24 Jul ’12, 9:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 25 Jul ’12, 9:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 26 Jul ’12, 9:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 27 Jul ’12, 9:00am – 4:30pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

The Arts Village, 1240 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Come and celebrate Matariki 2012 in Rotorua with a range of exciting local, international and nationally based artists.

This year the Rotorua Arts Village has the pleasure of hosting a wood carving symposium at the Village from Saturday June 30 - until it closes with an auction on Sunday July 8th - as part of our monthly Hot Lakes Craft Market.

A range of exciting carvers with national appeal will be working in wood with chainsaws and tools to create works as part of this event. Viewing times will be set each day for watching the carvers at work. Come at the right times and you won't be disappointed.

On Friday July 6th there will be an opening for the Matariki 2012 Artists Exhibition at 5pm. Both the Mosaic and Cottage Galleries will be filled to the brim with works by a range of artists both local and otherwise.

On Saturday July 7th the Arts Village also hosts Tanabata Day - a Japanese star celebration. While the carvers are busy at work, inside will be a riot of Japanese sounds food and activities.

On Sunday July 8th, the Wood Carving Symposium closes with a flourish as part of the Hot Lakes Craft Market. From 10am - 2pm visit stalls, eat, get a henna tattoo, listen to the sounds of Sonny Corbett and Bruce McFarlane, check out the exhibitions and enjoy the display of finished sculptures.

The exhibition continues on until the end of July, but all the action is in that first week culminating in an awesome show at the Markets.

Artists include:
Trevor Nathan, Joe Kemp, Natanahira Pona, Logan Shipgood, Joseph Ihaia, Rhys Shaw, William Tiatoa, Warwick Lilley, Peter Akurangi, Bill Smith, Tessa Harris, Tane Lagah, Aroha Adams, Patangata Aranga, Gina Wright, Sue Marsh, Angela Swann-Cronin, Leah McFarlane, Lesley Marsh, Nina Maika, Jessica Newman, Anna Hayes, Glenn Hauraki, Regan Balzer, Keita Hauiti, Mike Matchett, Riki Waugh, Darin Jenkins, Iritana Mossley.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited