Event Guide

Powered by:

Assembly

Assembly

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Thu 19 Apr ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Fri 20 Apr ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Sat 21 Apr ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Tue 24 Apr ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Wed 25 Apr ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Thu 26 Apr ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Fri 27 Apr ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Sat 28 Apr ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Tue 1 May ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Wed 2 May ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Thu 3 May ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Fri 4 May ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Sat 5 May ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Tue 8 May ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Wed 9 May ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Thu 10 May ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Fri 11 May ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Sat 12 May ’12, 12:00pm – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

St Paul St Gallery, 40 St Paul Street, Auckland CBD

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

In recent years we have seen the building momentum of actions, protests and occupations expressing the desire for social change and equality. These are the loud and noisy face of a much broader engagement and individual choice that many people make: to speak critically and fearlessly about small and large issues despite the personal risk this may entail. Assembly’s kaupapa is to interrogate the concept and practice of fearless speech as it occurs across many issues and forms of speaking.

Assembly is a two-part project instigated by St Paul St. The first stage involves the design and creation of an environment that supports the activity of fearless speech within the physical space of St Paul St Gallery One. This is being developed by a mixed discipline group of artists, designers and architects: Sue Gallagher, Tana Mitchell, Kim Paton, onne terre and Elvon Young. The second stage of Assembly is the activation of the kaupapa through activities held within and supported by the space. As part of the kaupapa of Assembly to support speaking on a variety of topics, St Paul St has extended invitations to groups, collectives and individuals to use the space of Assembly to participate in the exploration of fearless speech to address specific issues of interest to them.

In presenting Assembly St Paul St Gallery is embracing one of the primary instructions for universities in the New Zealand Education Act (1984), that they “accept a role as critic and conscience of society.”

Gallery hours will vary during Assembly, and not all events are public. A daily schedule will be posted on the website and our Facebook page, or call the Gallery on 921 9999 x 8313 for information on opening hours and events.

All events are at St Paul St Gallery One unless otherwise stated. More events will be announced as the project progresses.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited