Event Guide

Powered by:

Akoka Quartet

Sorry this event has been and gone


  • Sun 22 Apr ’12, 3:00pm


Ilott Theatre, 111 Wakefield St, Te Aro, Wellington


All Ages

Wellington Chamber Music's first 2012 concert features the Akoka Quartet, whose members are talented young New Zealanders now based in the UK, each with an impressive biography: Sarah Masters (clarinet), Simeon Broom (violin), Rachel Church (piano), and Victoria Simonsen (cello), winner of the 2008 Royal Overseas League Strings Competition.

Milhaud’s Suite Opus 157b (1936) is one of his most successful chamber works. Full of wit and sparkle, it is elegant in its surprising complexity. Fauré’s late Piano Trio Opus 120 (1924), written when the composer was 78, is an unquestioned masterwork, with confident formal freedom, graceful lyricism and an unmistakable, personal language. Messiaen’s astounding Quartet for the End of Time, a work first heard on a cold winter’s night in 1941 in a German prisoner-of-war camp, was written for the instruments and players Messiaen found among his fellow inmates. Expect an afternoon of virtuosic chamber music!

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited