Event Guide

Powered by:

Peter Hall: New Directions

Peter Hall: New Directions

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 10 Sep ’11, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 12 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 13 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 14 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 15 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 16 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 17 Sep ’11, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 19 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 20 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 21 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 22 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 23 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 24 Sep ’11, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 26 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 27 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 28 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 29 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 30 Sep ’11, 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 1 Oct ’11, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Monterey Art Gallery, 5 Cook St, Howick

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Opening Sat 10 Sept 4-6pm.

Monterey Art presents new works by Peter Hall. This is the fourth exhibition of Peter’s paintings to be held at the Monterey Gallery.

It is interesting to note the creative changes that have taken place with each of his shows. Moving through from classic New Zealand bush settings to his latest work, which draws upon his extensive background in fashion and textiles.

The key elements of his latest work explore the bold use of pattern and colour in landscape settings.

This important show demonstrates a fresh and an original approach Peter has taken in creating a contemporary and powerful collection of new work. Peter says “within the field of fashion and textiles, innovation and the need to create new trends for each season is vital to the potential success of any collection”.

It is this background passion that drives Peter to explore new avenues to develop, and not to just rely on producing collections based upon the success of the past.

Peter says that if he painted in the same style using the same subject matter, day after day, he would creatively die. He also says trying something new is both challenging and very demanding, but when it all comes together it is also very fulfilling.

Inspiration for the ‘New Directions’ collection has been based upon farms, orchards, and landscapes situated in both the North and South Island. Items such as fencing, produce boxes, sheds and barns etc help to create the patterning in support of the landscape scenes.

The use of bold and bright colour is designed to largely replace the deep shades of green, which traditionally have been a feature of many of Peter’s earlier landscape and bush paintings. ‘New Directions’ has achieved a refreshingly new and inspired approach to painting New Zealand landscapes.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited