Event Guide

Powered by:

Hope for the Child of War Art Exhibition

Hope for the Child of War Art Exhibition

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Thu 17 Nov ’11, 5:30pm – 7:00pm
  • Fri 18 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 19 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 20 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 21 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 22 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 23 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 24 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 25 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 26 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 27 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 28 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 29 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 30 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 1 Dec ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 2 Dec ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 3 Dec ’11, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Wellington Cathedral of St Paul, 45 Molesworth St, Thorndon, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Burma

The nation of Burma has been torn by fierce civil war for the last 60 years and its people held in the grip of a brutal dictatorship. With complete militarisation and ruthless tactics, the 400,000-man Burma Army (SPDC) now controls most of the major ethnic areas. In those areas people are regularly subjected to forced lobar, forced relocations, arbitrary taxation and extortion. They are frequent victims of violence perpetrated with impunity by the local Burma Army troops. The Burma Army also uses murder, torture and rape of civilians as a form of suppression.

In November 2010, a group of Partners staff and volunteers, including Ruth Corlett, Director of Partners NZ, and her daughter Carissa Corlett, helped to run an art therapy workshop for 150 primary school and high school students from a school in a Shan displaced peoples camp on the Thai-Burma border. Over two days the children were given the opportunity to paint two pictures “My life in Burma” or “My village” and secondly “My future” or “My Dream for the future”.

About twenty of these children were asked to share the story of their picture through a translator. All of the students were very keen to have Partners staff share their story and their paintings with those interested in our Partners donor countries.

These powerful paintings and the stories that go with them have been framed, along with photos of the artists, and made into a interactive art exhibition, titled ‘Hope for the Child of War’.

Grand opening: 17 November, 5.30pm (all welcome)
Exhibition runs from 17 November until 3 December from 10am – 4pm daily.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited