Event Guide

Powered by:

Kate Buckley: Goldworks

Kate Buckley: Goldworks

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 11 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 7:00pm
  • Sat 12 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 14 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 15 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 16 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 17 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 18 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 19 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 21 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 22 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 23 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 24 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 25 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 26 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 28 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 29 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 30 Nov ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 1 Dec ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 2 Dec ’11, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 3 Dec ’11, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 5 Dec ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 6 Dec ’11, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Taylor-Jensen Fine Arts, 33 George Street, Palmerston North

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Taylor-Jensen Fine Arts is pleased to present a unique dual exhibition showcasing the talents of two regional artists. Goldworks! is the title of Irish born artist Kate Buckley's first New Zealand exhibition which will feature her drawings using graphite and gold on cotton rag paper. These sumptuous works are accompanied by the finely crafted designer furniture of Andy Halewood. His exhibition features works that were created as models for his students in the Furniture Design & Making Course on the Ucol Palmerston North campus. Buckley and Halewood's work complement and enhance one another and together should help the potential buyer to envision the drawings and furniture as perhaps paired in one's home or office. It is an exhibition not to be missed.

Goldworks! features artworks which describe vessels and plants in careful detail. Objects are suspended, floating in a white space; asking the viewer to consider them in terms of shape, balance and beauty. The powerful symbolism of Viking ship burials has fascinated Kate Buckley for some time. Vessels such as these were taken out of the water and buried so that they could carry the Viking dead on their journey to the next world. Ms Buckley writes: "In this body of work the vessels carry the wishes we make for our lives and for those that we love. Ordinary things like watching budding flowers form are moments to be savoured, and celebrated." In most of the images the vessel or object is facing the viewer, pulling you into the viewing space. These are special and precious objects. The richness of the gold, the colour beneath it and the contrasts between the graphite and the empty space are visual decisions made to separate the subject from the ordinary. These pieces ask the viewer to acknowledge the beauty of the object and the 'wishes' contained within.

Kate Buckley studied printmaking and art history at the National College of Art and Design in Dublin, Ireland; she now resides in Taihape. Kate has exhibited in Ireland and Europe, having been Artist in Residence at the National Folk Theatre of Ireland, with ArtsLab Theatre Company at Trinity College Dublin and at the Stamsund International Theatre Festival, Norway. She has work in the collections of the Irish President, Guinness (Ireland) Ltd., the Irish Heritage Council, the National Concert Orchestra and many of the Irish Regional Council Art Collections.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited