Event Guide

Powered by:

2007-2008 Toyota Racing Series

2007-2008 Toyota Racing Series

Sorry this event has been and gone


  • Fri 2 Nov ’07 – Sun 4 Nov ’07


Pukekohe Park, 222-250 Manukau Rd, Pukekohe Show map

Fuelled for Pukekohe: Toyota Racing Series powers into fourth season.

Check out the next Scott Dixon, Brendon Hartley or Shane Van Gisbergen as they do battle on the fastest race track in New Zealand.
The Toyota Racing Series enters its fourth season with the opening round this weekend at Pukekohe and a strong field of Kiwi series regulars and quick rookies.
The eight-round season starts with the New Zealand Motorcup race at the first round of the summer motor racing season and includes the most prestigious titles in the New Zealand motor racing calendar.
Series Manager Barrie Thomlinson says there will be an international presence in the series from the first round and a host of leading New Zealand racers who will be aiming to make their mark in this country’s fastest open-wheeler category during the eight round season.
The series is now well established as an essential step for any young racer wanting to develop their skills for an assault on Europe or the USA.
Among the local drivers are four who begin their fourth TRS season. Aucklander Ben Crighton, Wellington’s Ben Harford, Christchurch driver Andy Knight and veteran Auckland-based racer Ken Smith, who this year also celebrates 50 consecutive seasons of competition.
Other TRS regulars Nic Jordan, Earl Bamber and Christina Orr are back for a shot at the title along with highly-rated rookies Mitch Cunningham, Dominic Storey, Sam McNeill and Michael Burdett.
The international interest this season starts at Pukekohe with the news that 19-year-old Australian driver Nathan Antunes will contest the whole season. He comes to the series with extensive European single-seater experience and is expected to give local drivers strong competition.
A number of other international drivers are currently developing their TRS season plans, attracted by the three round International ‘series within a series.’
The international races are the Lady Wigram Trophy race at Ruapuna, the New Zealand Grand Prix – which this year returns to Manfeild near Palmerston North – and the support race at Taupo’s A1 Grand Prix. This will be the Denny Hulme Memorial race and it takes place just over 40 years after Hulme’s historic Formula One World Championship victory.
From this weekend’s racing at Pukekohe, the TRS season runs over a further six championship rounds. The season concludes with a non-championship round at the inaugural V8 Supercar round at Hamilton in April 2008. It will be the first time the TRS cars have raced on a street circuit.
The first round of the 2007-2008 Toyota Racing Series starts at Pukekohe on Friday with practice and continues with racing on Saturday and Sunday.

For more information email mark.baker@ihug.co.nz

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited